General info

The third SchooL on Advanced Light-Emitting and Optical Materials (SLALOM) will be held on June 28-30, 2021. Advanced light-emitting and optical materials, including metamaterials, is a platform for future breakthroughs in telecommunications, quantum computing, displays, photovoltaics, and biophotonics.

School Topic

Advanced Light-Emitting and Optical Materials

For Whom?

Master’s and PhD students


28-30 June 2021


Vladivostok, Russia (FEFU campus) + online or fully online


Given the uncertainty of the situation in the world and no predictions on whether the traveling will be allowed by next summer we consider holding the school either in a hybrid format (offilne in Vladivostok, Russia + online) or fully online.


3-day course of lectures from the world's best experts the fundamentals to the latest achievements in the field, poster session and discussions with experts on modern scientific issues.


The Poster Session for young participants will provide unique opportunity for exchanging their experience with the world leading experts. We are going to select 3 (three) best posters and award them with Diplomas and memorable prizes.


Apply for a grant and the Organizing Committee will determine the best applications to fully or partially cover the travel costs or participation fee.

The School is organized by the Department of Physics and Engineering of ITMO University together with Far Eastern Federal University with financial support of Russian Science Foundation (grant 19-73-30023).

How to apply

The application for SLALOM 2021 is open until 16 April 2021. The acceptance results will be announced by 14 May 2021.

You can choose the preferred type of presentation - Oral talk (15 minutes) or E-Poster, or participate without talk.
Please be aware, that due to the limited amount of slots for oral presentations the selection of the talks will be conducted by the Program Committee and you might be offered a different type of presentation after the review.
You need to submit a one-page abstract to apply. The book of abstracts will be uploaded to the website before the School starts.
Please find the template for abstracts via the link.

Important Dates:

  • Submission deadline - 16 April 2021
  • Submission results - 14 May 2021
  • SLALOM 2021 - 28-30 June 2021


  • School Chair

    Sergey Makarov

    ITMO University (Russia)

  • Program Committee

    Anvar Zakhidov

    The Texas University at Dallas (USA)

    Pavel Belov

    ITMO University (Russia)

  • Organizing Committee

    Eduard Danilovsky

    ITMO University (Russia)

    Victoria Zheltova

    ITMO University (Russia)

  • School Secretary

    Anastasia Kaptsova

    ITMO University (Russia)